The Wiener Library

For the Study of the Holocaust & Genocide


List of News

The Wiener Library Ernst Fraenkel Prize is open for submissions

Ernst Fraenkel OBE at The Wiener Library, 2013.

Ernst Fraenkel OBE at The Wiener Library, 2013.

The Wiener Library is proud to announce that the annual Fraenkel Prize is now open for entries for 2017.

The Wiener Library Ernst Fraenkel Prize is a prestigious competition for book-length manuscripts on the Holocaust, its context and implications, and twentieth century and post-Holocaust genocides.

As the Prize reached its 25th anniversary in 2014, we wanted to re-evaluate its remit to ensure that it continues to reflect the Library’s fields of interest, which have evolved over the years. Following the death of Ernst Fraenkel OBE in late 2014, the Prize was suspended for a year in 2016 and we took this opportunity to work with our trustees and with the Fraenkel family to revise the rules of the competition and the subject areas it covers.

The Library gratefully acknowledges the huge debt it owes the women and men who have served as Judges of the Prize since its inception. It is thanks to their profound learning, their selfless dedication and expert judgement that the Fraenkel Prize has achieved such a high level of recognition as a hallmark of excellence. It is characteristic that the existing judges, chaired by Prof Jane Caplan, recognised that the future direction of the Prize would require new kinds of expertise and generously stepped down so that it could develop in new ways. The Library is deeply grateful to them for their service and support.

The decision on the 2017 Prize will be made by a committee of four judges:

  • Tim Cole, Professor of Social History and Director of Brigstow Institute, University of Bristol
  • Deborah Dwork, Rose Professor of Holocaust History, Clark University
  • Philip Spencer, Emeritus Professor in Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Kingston University
  • Dr Zoe Waxman, Senior Research Fellow, Oxford Centre for Hebrew and Jewish Studies

From this year there will no longer be two categories for submission; WLEFP is a single prize of £5,000, open to anyone who has not published more than two monographs. We have also revised the remit of the prize and have limited entries to manuscripts written in English. For the full rules and requirements, a list of eligible subject areas and information on how to submit your manuscript please click here.


Added: Wednesday 8th February, 2017